Sunday, September 7, 2014

Industry Credentials in Business Analysis

In a Deloitte's 2013 CIO Survey, 42% of CIOs rated business analysis as the top technical skills gap in their organization.

This week, I aced the Certification of Competency in Business Analysis™ (CCBA®) exam of the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA). The exam preparation was structured around mastering the six knowledge areas of A Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge® (BABOK® Guide). The current official release of the BABOK® Guide is version 2.0 and contains a detailed description of generally accepted practices in the field of business analysis.


Looking forward to version 3 of the  BABOK® Guide

I had a chance few months ago to participate in the pubic review of version 3 of the BABOK® Guide. The public review is now closed. Version 3 introduces the Business Analysis Framework (aka Turtle because of the shape of the diagram representing the framework) which describes the relationships between stakeholders, value, contexts, solutions, changes, and needs (see diagram below).

Version 3 includes the following perspectives:

  • Agile
  • Business Architecture
  • Business Process Management
  • Business Intelligence.

The CCBA exam based on version 3 of the BABOK® Guide will become available only sometime in 2015. It is an expanded version of version 2 and includes new techniques like the Decision Modeling Notation (DMN). See my previous post titled Modeling Clinical Rules with the Decision Modeling and Notation (DMN) Specification.

No comments:

Post a Comment